Course

Project Leadership and Communication


This course is designed to equip students with the "soft skills" needed for managing projects, including leadership, communications, team organization and development, conflict management, quality management, and negotiating. Using case studies and exercises, students explore vital aspects of project leadership such as the use of participative management to build commitment, leadership styles, organizational cultures and configurations, interpersonal skill development, project staffing, and working with distance-separated teams. Students also learn to establish clear project goals, overcome communication problems, write performance reports, and manage agreement.

Topics Include:

  • Project leadership versus project management
  • Improving project communications
  • Building commitment to the project
  • Successfully managing conflict
  • Using the Johari Window to assess your interpersonal skills

Note(s): Project Management Institute--PMP 30 Professional Development Units; HRCI--PHR, SPHR and GPHR general recertification credit, 27.5 hours.

Prerequisite(s):


Sections Open for Enrollment:

Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
09-19-2019 to 11-21-2019 3.0 CLASSROOM $900

Alan Tsuda

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Thu, 09-19-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 09-26-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 10-03-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 10-10-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 10-17-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 10-24-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 10-31-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 11-07-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 11-14-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 11-21-2019 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
09-25-2019 to 12-06-2019 3.0 ONLINE $900

Sanjay Bhatia

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Wed, 09-25-2019 12:00 a.m. 12:00 a.m. Online ONLINE
Fri, 12-06-2019 11:58 p.m. 11:59 p.m. Online ONLINE
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
01-10-2020 to 04-03-2020 3.0 CLASSROOM $900

Alan Tsuda

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Fri, 01-10-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Fri, 01-31-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Fri, 02-07-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Fri, 02-14-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Fri, 02-21-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Fri, 02-28-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Fri, 03-06-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Fri, 03-13-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Fri, 03-20-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Fri, 04-03-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA

Course Inquiry

Ask us any questions you may have about this course.

Contact Us
Speak to a student services representative.

Call (408) 861-3860

Envelope extension@ucsc.edu