Course

Python for Programmers


Python language is gaining popularity because its use enhances program correctness and increases programmer efficiency. Because of its clear and elegant syntax, dynamic typing, automatic memory management, and straight-forward module architecture, Python is simple to learn and fun to use. Its code is easy to read, write, extend and modify. This lab-based course offers proficiency in the core concepts of Python, and the skills and knowledge for building applications using any of the hundreds of thousands of task-specific Python libraries.

Topics include:

  • The Python environment: interpretation, integrated development environment, code introspection
  • Syntax: flow control, f-string formatting, function protocols, exception handling, functional programming
  • Built-in data types: strings, tuples, lists, sets, dictionaries
  • Sequence manipulations: slicing, accessing, packing, unpacking, sorting by an arbitrary sort key
  • Object-oriented features: classes and inheritance
  • Building applications, modules, packages, and libraries
  • Popular libraries: os, sys, copy, unittest, cProfile, optparse, unittest, shutil, tempfile, subprocess, and more
  • Pythonic thinking: namespaces, internationalization, iterators, generators, decorators, dynamic coding, context managers

Note(s): The Python interpreter is free software and runs on all popular platforms.


Skills Needed: Significant experience in any programming language.

Sections Open for Enrollment:

Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
03-10-2020 to 06-09-2020 3.0 ONLINE $1020

Marilyn Davis

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Tue, 03-10-2020 11:58 p.m. 11:59 p.m. Online ONLINE
Tue, 06-09-2020 11:58 p.m. 11:59 p.m. Online ONLINE
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
04-07-2020 to 07-07-2020 3.0 ONLINE $1020

Marilyn Davis

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Tue, 04-07-2020 11:58 p.m. 11:59 p.m. Online ONLINE
Tue, 07-07-2020 11:58 p.m. 11:59 p.m. Online ONLINE
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
04-15-2020 to 06-17-2020 3.0 ONLINE $1020

Ravishankar N Chityala

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Wed, 04-15-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 04-22-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 04-29-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 05-06-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 05-13-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 05-20-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 05-27-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 06-03-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 06-10-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 06-17-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
06-08-2020 to 06-21-2020 3.0 ONLINE $1020

Marilyn Davis

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Mon, 06-08-2020 9:00 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Tue, 06-09-2020 9:00 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Wed, 06-10-2020 9:00 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Thu, 06-11-2020 9:00 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Live-Online ONLINE
Sun, 06-21-2020 11:58 p.m. 11:59 p.m. Final Coursework Due ONLINE
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
06-16-2020 to 09-15-2020 3.0 ONLINE $1020

Marilyn Davis

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Tue, 06-16-2020 12:01 a.m. 12:02 a.m. Online ONLINE
Tue, 09-15-2020 11:58 p.m. 11:59 p.m. Online ONLINE
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
06-20-2020 to 08-29-2020 3.0 CLASSROOM $1020

Danesh Forouhari

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Sat, 06-20-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 06-27-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 07-11-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 07-18-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 07-25-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 08-01-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 08-08-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 08-15-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 08-22-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 08-29-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
06-30-2020 to 09-01-2020 3.0 CLASSROOM $1020

Ravishankar N Chityala

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Tue, 06-30-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 07-07-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 07-14-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 07-21-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 07-28-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 08-04-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 08-11-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 08-18-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 08-25-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 09-01-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
08-04-2020 to 11-03-2020 3.0 ONLINE $1020

Marilyn Davis

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Tue, 08-04-2020 12:01 a.m. 12:02 a.m. Online ONLINE
Tue, 11-03-2020 11:58 p.m. 11:59 p.m. Online ONLINE
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
08-24-2020 to 09-06-2020 3.0 $1020

Marilyn Davis

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Mon, 08-24-2020 9:00 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Tue, 08-25-2020 9:00 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 08-26-2020 9:00 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Thu, 08-27-2020 9:00 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Lab with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sun, 09-06-2020 9:00 a.m. 5:00 p.m. Final Coursework Due None

Course Inquiry

Ask us any questions you may have about this course.

Contact Us
Speak to a student services representative.

Call (408) 861-3860

Envelope extension@ucsc.edu