Course

Human Physiology in Health and Disease


This course introduces the fundamental principles of human physiology in health and disease, and provides insight into emerging and established therapies used to treat a range of disease processes. Designed for individuals who lack formal medical training, the course introduces the hierarchical organization of the body, from cells to coordinated organ systems, and continues with a discussion of the key integrative/homeostatic control mechanisms. With these topics as a foundation, the instructor progresses through the functions of major systems, including renal, cardiovascular, respiratory, neuromuscular, digestive, endocrine and reproductive.

This course benefits clinical research, biopharmaceutical, and engineering professionals who need a basic understanding of the physiological processes and therapeutic approaches that underlie the biomedical projects or clinical trials on which they work.


Sections Open for Enrollment:

Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
03-28-2020 to 06-20-2020 3.0 CLASSROOM $815

Ruhina Najem

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Sat, 03-28-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 04-04-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 04-11-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 04-18-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 04-25-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 05-02-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 05-09-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 05-16-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 05-30-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 06-06-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 06-13-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Sat, 06-20-2020 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA

Course Inquiry

Ask us any questions you may have about this course.

Contact Us
Speak to a student services representative.

Call (408) 861-3860

Envelope extension@ucsc.edu