Course

Networking Fundamentals


Formerly "Computer Networking Essentials"

This foundation course covers the concepts and technologies required for understanding today's data voice and video networks. It provides a comprehensive survey of networking standards and protocols used to define, understand, and work with a wide range of network topologies such as building or campus networks (LANs), mobile/regional (MANs), and large-scale networks such as company intranets, public internet, or data center networks. You will also gain a strong foundation in networking protocols, hardware, industry standards, and connectivity solutions.

After taking this course, you will have a strong base for other courses and IT areas that rely on networks. You’ll have the knowledge for high-demand positions such as a network engineer, production engineer, and site reliability engineer. Understanding networking is also key in any IT administration role.

Topics include:


  • Physical layer
  • Media access control layer: ethernet, Wi-Fi, switches
  • Network layer: IPv4/IPv6, IPSec, traditional routing, quality of service (QoS)
  • Transport layer: TCP/IP and UDP
  • Security: fundamentals of SSL/TLS
  • Application protocols: HTTP, DNS, DHCP
  • Software defined networks

Sections Open for Enrollment:

Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
01-08-2020 to 03-18-2020 3.0 CLASSROOM $750

Steve Arnold

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Wed, 01-08-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 01-15-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 01-22-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 01-29-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 02-05-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 02-12-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 02-19-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 02-26-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 03-04-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 03-11-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 03-18-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
04-06-2020 to 06-15-2020 3.0 CLASSROOM $750

Steve Arnold

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Mon, 04-06-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Mon, 04-13-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Mon, 04-20-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Mon, 04-27-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Mon, 05-04-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Mon, 05-11-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Mon, 05-18-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Mon, 06-01-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Mon, 06-08-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Mon, 06-15-2020 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA

Course Inquiry

Ask us any questions you may have about this course.

Contact Us
Speak to a student services representative.

Call (408) 861-3860

Envelope extension@ucsc.edu