Course

Employment Benefits and Retirement Planning in Personal Financial Planning


Planning for a successful retirement calls for a thorough evaluation of wealth, goals, and resources. In this overview course you gain theoretical insights and practical skills for managing the retirement planning process, an important component of personal financial planning. Learn how to determine the adequacy of your clients’ retirement resources and income.

We will also discuss various employee benefit and government programs that provide retirement security. Topics include tax deferred retirement plans, pension, profit sharing, 401(k), 403(b), 457, SEP, IRA, and other tax qualified plans as well as nonqualified deferred compensation, and social security. Students are introduced to the fiduciary requirements of these plans and the taxation of benefits received as well as evaluation and selection from among the various plans covered.

Prerequisite(s):



Sections Open for Enrollment:

Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Location Cost Instructor
06-26-2019 to 08-28-2019 3.5 CLASSROOM $720

Sadie M. Pourfathi

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Wed, 06-26-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 07-03-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 07-10-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 07-17-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 07-24-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 07-31-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 08-07-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 08-14-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 08-21-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA
Wed, 08-28-2019 6:00 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Classroom with Online Materials SANTA CLARA